6/22: Up on the roof

June 27, 2006 at 4:09 pm (732 Walnut Updates)

ChimneyI braved the rooftop today to remove three chimneys and a giant antenna – perhaps qualifying the home for tallest building in Albany.  OK, a slight exaggeration, but this antenna was mammoth and the house looks much better now.
 
The chimneys were all in poor shape as I could remove the bricks with my bare Roof without a chimneyhands.  The mortar was pretty much just sand making for easy demolition – no sledgehammer required.  We plan to keep the main chimney for the living room fireplace — it will need repair, but is still functional.  The others served no purpose, as they were vents for old cook stoves or furnaces.

2 Comments

  1. Jacho said,

    You either got guts, or checked out the roof from the attic real well before you went up there! I am not particularly terrified by heights, but from the looks of the roof I am not so sure I would want to walk around up there too much. You might end up opening up an express elevator shaft to the basement that way.

  2. Rod Porsche said,

    I guess I’ve got more guts than brains, Jacho, because I hopped right up on the roof without too much fear. The roof trusses are actually in pretty good shape except for a few spots where it’s so rotten I’ve had to add supports from inside the house. The area around the turret is especially bad, and I believe I would have created an express elevator shaft had I ventured too close.

    Rod

Leave a Reply

